I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Dibrugarh District

Labour Welfare Department Roles and Functionaries

  • Labour Welfare Department is a regulatory department and has been enforcing the following Act and Rules.

    1. The Child and Adolescent (P&R) Act-1986.
    2. The Industrial Dispute Act -1947.
    3. The Assam Shops and Establishments Act,-1971.
    4. The Plantations Labour Act,-1951.
    5. The Employees Compensation Act,-1923.
    6. The Motor Transport Workers Act,-1961.
    7. The Trade Union Act,-1926.
    8. The Payment of Wages Act, 1936.
    9. The Industrial Employment (Standing Order) Act,1946.
    10.   The Minimum Wages Act, 1948.
    11. The Working Journalist and Other Newspaper Employees (C.S) and Miscellaneous Provision Act,-1955.
    12. The Maternity Benefit Act, 1961.
    13. The Payment of Bonus Act, 1965.
    14. The Beedi and Cigar Workers (C.E) Act, 1966.
    15. The Contract Labour (R&A) Act, 1970.
    16. The Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972.
    17. The Equal Remuneration Act, 1976.
    18. The Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act, 1976.
    19. The Sales Promotion Employees Act, 1979.
    20. The Inter State Migrant Workmen (RE & CS) Act, 1979.
    21. The Cine Workers and Cinema Theatre Workers Act, 1981.
    22. The Labour Law (Exemption From Furnishing Returns and Maintaining Registers by certain Establishment) Act,1988.
    23. The Unorganised Workers Social Security Act, 2008.



    The only welfare Scheme in Labour Welfare Department….

    1. The Building and other Construction Workers (RE & CS) Act, 1996.